Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join NAHAM
Epic Forum
Moderator(s):
Page 1 of 1
Forum Actions

Topics   Replies Score Author Latest Post
Format of last name in Epic 0 N. Farrington   I recently discovered that when I search for a patient record in Epic that is a very significant difference in the records that are found depending on whether an apostrophe or a space is used in entering the last name.  I wonder if the same issue will happen with hyphens; I have not experimented yet. Since Epic "accepts"  spaces, hyphens and apostrophes we were unaware of the impact.  It causing duplicate MRN for us.   Has anyone created a standard practice for this field? If yes, would you be willing to share it. If not, are you experiencing duplicates because some staff use the punctuation and others do not?
by N. Farrington
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Medicare and reporting 0 J. Clouse     Hello! I am new to my role as interim supervisor for outpatient rehabilitation for PT, OT, and ST therapy! I was hoping to reach out to my colleagues whom may schedule for Medicare rehab therapies Ortho, Neuro service lines. Do you have a process embedded in EPIC to calculate Medicare therapy caps? Or what is your process for calculating Medicare therapy caps?   Thank you!   Jackie
by J. Clouse
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Anonymous Patients 3 N. Farrington At Children's, we use Doe, City Name (first name) and a set of two letters for middle name. In this instance, we keep the temporary identity in place for 12 hours or until there is no anticipated impact to Blood Bank or the OR. After that timeframe, we reach out to the clinical team to obtain approval to change the name.
by S. Benintendi
Wednesday, July 24, 2019